DE FR

Our region

There is a lot to discover besides the MEGA event!

If you are already in the region, why not stay a little longer. Many attractions worth seeing and visiting are within an hour from Frauenfeld. Check out some of the suggestions we've put together for you:

Lake Constance

Lake Constance is Europe's third largest lake, provides drinking water for millions and is habitat for abundant wild life.

Bodensee

  • cruises with the Swiss (Schweizerischen Bodensee Schiffahrt) or German (BSB) boat companies.
  • rent a motor or sailing yacht (no license required)
  • scuba diving (there are a number of diving caches, too)
  • swimming at countless public spots
  • wind surfing and kite surfing
  • birdwatching, e.g. in a nature reserve of European significance at Wollmatinger Ried
  • much more

Säntis in the Appenzell region

If you want high up, this is for you. The peak of the Säntis can easily be reached using the cable carand offers an unequalled view over Lake Constance, Vorarlberg (Austria), the Black Forest (Germany) and the Alps.

Saentis

Dolphinarium and leisure park Connyland

Fun and games for the whole family at Connyland ressort with its unique dolphinarium.

connyland

Monastery Library in St. Gallen

The library at the monastery in St. Gallen is Switzerland's oldest library and one of the largest and oldest monastery libraries in the world. It contains 2100 manuscripts, 1650 incunabula (prints before 1500) and early prints (printed between 1501 and 1520) as well as about 160.000 books. In 1983 the library together with the monastery district was listed as UNESCO world heritage. The collection is open to the public.

Stiftsbibliothek St.Gallen

An item deserving special mention is the St. Gallen Globe from the 16th century. The representation of the world painted on its surface is based on a world map published by the famous cartographer Gerhard Mercator in 1569.

Stilt houses at Lake Constance

The Lake Dwelling Museum Unteruhldingen is an open air museum on the shores of Lake Constance which was opened in 1922. It displays archaeological finds and replicas of stilt house villages from the stone and bronze ages. It is one of Europe's biggest open air museums. In June 2011 the remains of many historic stilt house dwellings in the alpine region - among others the dwellings Unteruhldingen-Stollenwiesen, situated about 500m south of the museum - were listed as UNESCO world heritage sites.

Pfahlbauermuseum

fr EN

Unsere Region

Es gibt - nebst dem Megaevent - noch vieles zu sehen und entdecken!

Wenn du schon mal in der Gegend bist, dann bleib doch noch etwas länger in der Region. Vom Standort Frauenfeld aus bist du in rund einer Stunde an zahlreichen sehens- und besuchswürdigen Orten. Nachfolgend siehst du ein paar von uns ausgewählte Beispiele:

Der Bodensee

Der Bodensee ist Europas drittgrösstes Binnengewässer, Trinkwasserreservoir für Millionen Menschen sowie Lebensraum einer vielfältigen Tierwelt.

Bodensee

  • Rundfahrten mit der Schweizerischen Bodensee Schiffahrt oder BSB
  • Motor- und Segelboote mieten (auch ohne Schein)
  • Tauchen (es gibt auch Tauch-Caches!)
  • Baden an zahlreichen frei zugänglichen Badeplätzen
  • Surfen und Kite-Surfen
  • Natur und Vögel beobachten, z.B. im Naturschutzgebiet von europäischer Bedeutung im Wollmatinger Ried
  • und vieles mehr

Säntis im Appenzellerland

Wer hoch hinaus will, ist hier gut aufgehoben. Bequem erreicht man den Gipfel des Säntis mit der Schwebebahn und kann einen unvergleichlichen Ausblick über den Bodensee, Vorarlberg, Schwarzwald und die Alpen geniessen.

Saentis

Freizeitpark Connyland

Spiel und Spass für die ganze Familie im Connyland Freizeitpark, dem grösste Freizeitpark der Schweiz.

connyland

Stiftsbibliothek des Klosters St.Gallen

Die Stiftsbibliothek St. Gallen ist die älteste Bibliothek der Schweiz und eine der grössten und ältesten Klosterbibliotheken der Welt. Sie besitzt 2100 Handschriften, 1650 Inkunabeln (Druckwerke bis 1500) und Frühdrucke (gedruckt zwischen 1501 und 1520) sowie etwa 160'000 Bücher. 1983 wurde die Bibliothek zusammen mit dem Stiftsbezirk St.Gallen ins UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe aufgenommen. Die Sammlung ist öffentlich zugänglich.

Stiftsbibliothek St.Gallen

Besonders zu erwähnen ist der aus dem 16. Jh. stammende St.Galler Globus. Die auf der Oberfläche aufgemalte Darstellung der Welt basiert auf einer 1569 publizierten Weltkarte des berühmten Kartographen Gerhard Mercator.

Pfahlbauten am Bodensee

Das Pfahlbaumuseum Unteruhldingen ist ein am Bodensee gelegenes Freilichtmuseum, entstanden im Jahr 1922, das archäologische Funde und Nachbauten von Pfahldörfern aus der Stein- und Bronzezeit präsentiert. Es zählt zu den grössten Freilichtmuseen Europas. Im Juni 2011 wurden die Überreste zahlreicher historischer Pfahlbausiedlungen im Alpenraum, darunter auch das etwa 500 Meter südlich des Museums gelegene Pfahlbaufeld Unteruhldingen-Stollenwiesen, auf der Liste des Weltkulturerbes der UNESCO aufgenommen.

Pfahlbauermuseum